Hi, my name is Christine and I Love to Shop

I recently stopped receiving daily offers Haute Look, a members-only shopping site,  in my email. I felt overwhelmed by the amount of correspondence and I also found myself purchasing more for pleasure than necessity—so I cut them off. I thought my bank accounts were safe until I found out about Gilt Groupe’s 

Gilt on the Go app. This free app lets you shop anywhere, anytime from your smartphone or tablet. The app has a lot of features that bring the brand into Web 3.0

Gilt Groupe iPhone app for shopping on the go

This is a screen shot of the Gilt on the Go app for the iPhone. Retrieved from http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/06/29/gilt-groupe-mobile/

Web 3.0 has been labeled the Mobile Web. The Mobile Web 3.0 has elements that build upon prior eras, but it also has several distinct and different elements from what’s come before. Some of these distinct elements of the Mobile Web 3.0 era include:

  • real-time
  • ubiquitous (always connected, always with you)
  • location aware
  • sensors
  • tailored, smaller screen
  • high quality camera and audio (Jamison, 2012).

Gilt’s strategy of creating an experience that transcends beyond the desktop is very web 3.0. People are attached to their smartphones, so naturally, this app goes wherever you go, allowing you to shop anywhere, anytime. You won’t miss a beat and miss the opportunity to spend moolah on a flash sale or get the notification that the product for which you were wait-listed, is now available. A fitting room can’t fit into your phone, but you can upload your picture and Gilt will adjust the picture so you can see how the item looks on you before you purchase it (this feature is coming soon). I like that Gilt recognizes people are not in front of their computers all the time and want real-time information to make informed purchasing decisions.  Note that these features are primarily for iPhone and iPad users. (Chen, 2012).

I downloaded the app and was impressed with the usability and design. I placed an item in my cart and received a notification a few minutes later that it was still in my cart so I wouldn’t forget to make the purchase.  I was also able to set up a reminder so I wouldn’t miss an upcoming sale. Another feature is a color tool that lets you point your phone to say your couch for example, and it provides a selection of Gilt products available in that color scheme.

Although Gilt is headed in the right direction for Mobile 3.0, there are some enhancements the group should consider in the future– product recommendations based on previous purchases or another product to match one currently in your cart. But honestly, I just can’t wait to upload pictures of myself wearing all the fancy wares! Keep posted for pictures!

References

Chen, B. Gilt Groupe’s recipe for success in mobile . New York Times. June 2012. Retrieved from http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/06/29/gilt-groupe-mobile/

Jamison, J. Web 3.0: The mobile era. Techcrunch (2012) Retrieved from http://techcrunch.com/2012/08/11/analysis-web-3-0-the-mobile-era/

Leave a Reply

